Sitting with Job Part 3

The friends are no longer silent, and the great speeches begin. Words flow like tumultuous waves, sinking to places 'forgotten by feet', and rising to the heights of God himself. Words. Capable of refreshing like cool water or diminishing like the grave. What do Job's friends hear? Like conversational artisans, Job's friends speak eloquently, but as though Job had barely uttered a word.

In my field of employment and in my ministry, listening is one of the most important things I do. Yet how easily my mind can wander.

God, help me to listen to You. And when I am in conversation with people, help me to listen not only to the words of the mouth, but the words of the heart. May I be slow to speak.

One thought on “Sitting with Job Part 3

Leave a Reply

