Apples and goaties

I have been somewhat uninspired of late, and have not posted for a while. For a light start to the year, check out this cartoon: – there is a story behind the drawing…

Emerging Church bloggers

This cartoon made me smile as one does not have to hang around the “emerging church scene” for very long to spot the bitten apple symbols everywhere. The shades in this cartoon are a wee bit Matrix-like, but I have to agree with the goatie – just as Hillsong has its trendsetters, and John Wimber brought the humble tracksuit into the preaching arena, the goatie is the must-have emergent do. As someone who spends more than a little time pondering all things emergent, I feel sympathetic towards the artist of this cartoon as I am goatie-free (thankfully) and plug away on my PC (regrettably, I do suffer mac-envy). :-).

9 thoughts on “Apples and goaties

  1. Macs are pretty cool, I have to admit. The cartoon is right on, though — most of the people I know from church have or want a Mac. I assume it’s because Mac is part of the counter-culture — sticking it to the man by not buying PC, etc.

    Either way, though, love the light-hearted post. πŸ™‚

  2. Well, Christina, if it makes you feel better: I haven’t got a goatie and don’t even really have that much more choice about it than you do. Although my Mac envy has been temporarily dissuaded because I’m “testing” one out for work. πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Geoff – I never did get to see the final outcome of “Movember”… πŸ˜‰ As for the Mac, I have decided that my next computer will be a Mac, more for the “cute” factor than the “sticking it to the man” I have to sadly admit. I don’t use windows (have been using Linux for years) – can’t get much more counter-cultural than that!

  4. hmmm, must confess that I have more “bang for buck” with my laptop PC than if I had gone for a MacBook. The Mac is comparatively underpowered, but oh so pretty. BTW, I didn’t know that the MacBook didn’t have a second mouse button. How do you “right-click”?

  5. As a fellow Linux user, I tend to agree, Christina. But, Windows has its’ uses: using a 56k winmodem, for instance.

    After OSX, Mac has just been a highly-publicized Linux anyway.

  6. Mac’s are mostly popular in movies because they look cool. [The ACER Ferrari laptop could give a run for their money though] OSX is powerful but They “Mac people” don’t have the guts to say its Linux. πŸ™‚

    But unlike all of you, I prefer a desktop rather than a laptop. πŸ˜€ Everybody;s choice I guess!

  7. Christina, just browsing your blog and saw that you updated the look. I like it! very clean and bright — has Mac changed your viewing style? πŸ˜€

  8. Hi Will, thanks for the feedback! I did update the look – but quite by accident as I was setting up another wordpress blog while logged into this one and somehow erased all my settings! I have yet to have the pleasure of viewing my blog or anything else for that matter on a Mac that belongs to me! :-S

Leave a Reply

