My Teppanyaki

 my-teppanyaki.jpg

This is my second ever post about food.  Like the first, it is about Japanese cuisine. I have been in Bendigo for the the last few days, and on Tuesday night I went out for dinner to My Teppanyaki, a Japanese restaurant where all the food is cooked on a fiery hot plate in front of you.  The first two courses are received with little fanfare (a warming bowl of miso soup and a simple but cleansing salad of lettuce and carrot).  Next came a small clay bottle of sake, Japanese rice wine.  This was my first try of sake, in  a tiny clay bowl.  It is an interesting taste.  Oddly comforting, in a similar way to jasmine tea at a Chinese restaurant.  Just with a little more kick.  And warm.  I am not accustomed to warm alcohol.  I decided to take this unknown beverage slowly.  We had a chef all to ourselves.  Scrapers and knives flourished through the air, as the food was rigorously prepared and cooked before us.  The shelling and deveining of the prawns (a grotesque job at the best of times) was poetry in motion.  The prawns were void of their less appertising parts in less time than it usually takes me to remove the head of just one.  One wonders how many prawns perished in the mastering of this deft knife maneuver.   The other standout part of the meal was the preparation of the eggs for fried rice.  Somehow the chef formed a long tube of fried egg, and then with scrapers a blur, he attacked the egg with what looked like a series of karate chops.  The assaulted egg flew through the air and landed scattered about the rice.  At the end we cupped our hands Oliver Twist style and prayed for accuracy on the part of our chef.  The bowls were tossed into our hands from over a meter away.  To top it off, the chef thanked us in salt, writing upside down.  An amazing experience.  The food itself was more like the added bonus.  It was of course scrumptious.

11 thoughts on “My Teppanyaki

  1. That is one of the most delicious things from the sound of it. One of these days I’m going to eat Japanese… Sushi among them. Pity there isn’t any here.

    Have you eaten Sushi? If so, how was it? 😀

    Now if only this was veggie you’d be nominated for the awards….. but then again whats Jap food without fish… especially PRAWNS!!! [I ate some prawns too btw, over the weekend. 2 years without prawns can make a Prawn lover feel like he was locked up] LOL.

    But still PRAWNS…. *falls off chair with glassy eyes*

  2. *any here – I should have been a bit clear since it does sound misleading. I meant a Japanese restuarant/foodie place over here i.e. my place. 🙂

  3. I forget how multicultural Australian cuisine is. So you don’t have Japanese restaurants in India? Sushi is wonderful (although I don’t go for raw fish). I like the other varieties though. Perhaps you could try making it – there are plenty of good instructions out there on the web. I am an almost vegetarian, and I don’t think Japanese food is all that great as a veggie. However, Indian food is wonderful, and is always my food of choice when I go out for dinner. I love to cook it at home too. Dahl Makhani, korma, etc. The best for vegetarian food.

  4. Nah, only teh BIG plush hotels have them like the Taj… which the common man can’t afford. LOL. And even if I could, it doesn’t make sense going 300 miles just to eat Sushi. I’d go all the way to Japan! 😀

    Are all Australian’s “near veggies” ? LOL. You’re the third one from among the 5 I know. So perhaps “every 3 in 5 Aussies is Vegetarian”. 😛

    Indian food? Cool! Have you eaten some Maharashtrian food? Kanda Bhaji, Zunka Bhakar and the like? Simply Superb! 😉 If you like Indian food so much, I’m sure you would have eaten Biryani… nobody misses THAT! lol. Try Chhole sometime.. north Indian dish I lurrrve.

    Btw, is that pic of the Thankyou the Chef wrote in salt? Wowww…….

  5. Mmmmmm. All this food talk is making me rather hungry for my dinner. I’m an Aussie vego too Ashish. Don’t know if it’s a 3:5 ratio though (at least in my neck of the woods). Working in a restaurant I have to order a heck of a lot of steaks through to the kitchen. I’m sure it’s really not that healthy eating so much red meat, but each to her own.

    Oh yeah, and sushi…? It’s my most favourite meal of all time. SO cheap and so so delicious. Wasabi goodness. Yes I had some for lunch just today. Like Christina said, you’ll have to learn to make it if you can’t find it anywhere else 😉

  6. I was a full veggie for about ten years – had to break it though to avoid B12 injections – not a fan of needles where avoidable. Still prefer to eat veggie whenever possible. I agree with Anna – most Aussies think I am weird for being veggie (or now mostly). Lots of jokes about serving up lettuce leaves, rabbit food etc. Obviously not people familiar with the hearty delights of your country. Now I have had Biryani, but I haven’t come across the other dishes you mentioned though – or maybe just don’t recognise them. I was rather impressed by the salt writing so took a photo when he headed out the back of the restaurant.

  7. The largest problem with Australian cuisine is that it doesn’t involve enough Kangaroo. Roo is superior to beef/lamb/pork in every way, especially in Australia where the other red meats destroy the country side.

  8. Anna: Ah well, then its only Japan where I can eat Sushi I guess … I can’t cook for the life of me. LOL. I can only make tea and a bit of pulao…. 😀 Yeah, it more looks like its now a 4:5 ratio! 😛 Just kidding. lol.

    Christina: Well you’ll hardly find veggies here except Brahmins, Gujaratis and Marwaris [no wait that means a lot of veggies there!] LOL. But these are bound by their customs… its hard to find a veggie because he loves to. Or its perhaps just me who’s been brought up near a coast and has had seafood in his diet. lol. Btw, I go veg once a month every year [holy month of shravan] and it isn’t that hard. Still can’t live without chicken! I’m impressed by veggies though.. I can’t survive without meat for more than two months.

    Biryani is famous so I knew you would know it. 🙂 Kanda Bhaji is a favorite snack over here. You get Bhaji everywhere in India but Maharashtra [Indian State from where I am] has a special one with Onion [Kanda]. Here’s the recipe I blogged after translating it from my mom’s instructions –

    Zunka Bhakar is well unexplainable. You’ll have to come over to Maharashtra and eat it to understand. 😉

    Gareth – But but Kangaroo’s are so cute! [Not that I’ve seen one in real life!]

  9. No worries Christina! Be sure to show me a photo of the Bhaji’s if you make them! 🙂

    [Btw, I’ve put links for what Chana [Desi Chickpea] and Gram flour is on that post. if you didn’t see….]

Leave a Reply

